About OCBC

+61 (0) 417 085 323

About OCBC

The Oceania Boxing Confederation was created as a result of decisions made at the AIBA Extraordinary Congress in Chicago 2007. Prior to this it was known as the Oceania Amateur Boxing Association (OCBA). The OABA was created in 1970 from the Oceania Continental Bureau which had been created at the AIBA Congress meeting held in Rome in 1966.

The Oceania Boxing Confederation was formed as a result of in is affiliated with the International Boxing Association (AIBA) and is responsible for overseeing boxing within the Oceania Region. Oceania is one of five Regional Confederations throughout the world, the others being America, Asia, Europe, and Africa. The Confederation is made up of 14 Nations within the Oceania Region. The nations within the confederation are American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tahiti, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Guam which is a provisional member.

While the region is large in area most of its member Federations are small islands sparse in terms of population.

Executive Committee of Oceania Boxing Confederation

OCBC President
Ted Tanner (Australia)

OCBC Vice Presidents
Tauhiti Nena (Tahiti)
Faafouina Milford (Samoa)

Committee Members
Mapu Jamias (American Samoa)
Sean Oppenheimer (Nauru)
Derek Andrewatha (Kiribati)
Patricia Barton (Cook Islands)

Mr David Pike - OCBC Executive Director